Latest News
post image

Griff names his final squad of the year.

On Sunday the Knights travel to Meadow Lane to close 2014 with a scintillating clash versus Northern Championship rivals Nottingham.

The Green and Whites have had a solid campaign to date, currently fifth in the division, trailing fourth placed Rotherham Titans on points difference alone.

Director of Rugby Clive Griffiths makes just one change to the backline that produced five tries in the Knights resounding win over Cross Keys last Saturday as Bruno Bravo replaces Tomasi Palu at scrum half.

Upfront Ben Hunter returns to the starting line up having recovered from a knock to the head sustained versus Cornish Pirates at the start of the month. He is accompanied in the front row by Richard List and Ross Davies who makes his first Championship start of the season having made an impressive return from injury off the bench last weekend.

The only other swap in the pack sees Phil Eggleshaw picked ahead of Latu Makaafi at blindside flanker who is included amongst the replacements. Eslewhere on the bench Italian propping duo Riccardo Brugnara and Tiziano Pasquali will hope to make an impact if called upon and are joined by fellow Leicester Tiger Ollie Bryant who could make his Knights debut.

19-year-old Bryant is capable at fly-half and centre and has achieved age grade honours for England at U16 level and has captained the Tigers U18 side. Paul Roberts and Brad Field complete the squad, both having made significant contributions from the bench versus Cross Keys.

Knights XV

15 Paul Jarvis 14 Dougie Flockhart 13 Andy Bulumakau 12 Bevon Armitage 11 Tyson Lewis 10 Piers Francis 9 Bruno Bravo 1 Richard List 2 Ben Hunter 3 Ross Davies 4 Matt Challinor 5 Jon Phelan 6 Phil Eggleshaw 7 Michael Hills © 8 Alex shaw

Replacements; 16 Riccardo Brugnara 17 Villiame Veikoso 18 Tiziano Pasquali 19 Latu Makaafi 20 Paul Roberts, 21 Ollie Bryant, 22 Brad Field

Nottingham Rugby XV

15) Billy Robinson 14) Ryan Hough ?13) Ed Styles? 12) Javiah Pohe ?11) Liam O’Neill? 10) Dan Mugford? 9) Sean Romans 1) George Porter ?2) Shaun Malton ?3) Conor Carey? 4) Toby Freeman ?5) Dan Montagu ?6) Rupert Cooper? 7) Brent Wilson (c)? 8) Paul Grant

Replacements; 16) Campese Ma’afu? 17) Jon Vickers ?18) Michael Holford? 19) Tom Price? 20) Tom Calladine? 21) Alex Smit? 22) Will Maisey

Our Partners