DoR Clive Griffiths has been pleased with summer recruitment

Director of Rugby Clive Griffiths has been happy with his summer signings so far, but has admitted they is still the possibility of more new arrivals at Castle Park.

The Knights have signed eight new players, Reiss Cullen, Kyle Evans, Matt Smith, Andrew Foster, Pete Lucock, George Edgson, Sam Pocklington and Will Holling for the 2019/20 campaign.

All of which Clive has been pleased to persuade join Doncaster.

“ We have pretty active in the transfer market and I think we have got some really quality players on board to add to those we have already, there are still a few positions still left open with the players and of course the Backs & Attack coach, so we’ll be working hard to get that sorted as soon as possible.

Doncaster will face National 2 South Champions Rams RFC on the 31st August, who won their league with only two defeats all season.

Clive is expecting the Reading based side will bring a strong game to Castle Park.

“I am expecting a lot of exuberance, intent and ambition as well, they have worked their way up the leagues and are an ambition club.

They wanted the fixture and to come to Castle Park, so that in itself shows their willing and I am looking forward to meeting up with some old friends at the club as well.”

The Knights returned to pre-season last week with Clive aware that the longer period until the Championship campaign begins allowing for fitness levels to rise.

“It has been a bit of mix with the shape and fitness that the boys have returned to training in, I wouldn’t say everyone has come back in peak condition but you probably expect that at this stage, it is early stages of pre-season of course.

We have a longer pre-season now with the season now beginning on the 21st September so we have more time to condition the lads and integrate everybody as well as the staff.”


DoR Clive Griffiths has been pleased with summer recruitment

League Table

1 Ampthill 0
2 London Scottish 0
3 Nottingham 0
4 Newcastle Falcons 0
5 Jersey Reds 0
6 Hartpury 0
7 Ealing Trailfinders 0
8 Doncaster Knights 0
9 Coventry 0
10 Cornish Pirates 0
11 Bedford Blues 0
12 Yorkshire Carnegie 0