Latest News
post image

Team News | Knights Take Large Travelling Squad for RGC Friendly

Doncaster Knights have named their large travelling squad for the friendly against RGC in North Wales ahead of the 2023/24 season.

DoR Steve Boden and Head Coach Joe Ford have named a starting 15 alongside a replacements bench of 17 players to ensure game-time for as many faces as possible.

The starting front row is formed by new signings Harrison Courtney and Corrie Barrett at loosehead and tighthead with the familiar face of George Roberts between the two at hooker.

Knights Academy graduate Adam Hopkinson has experienced Ben Murphy alongside him in the second row pairing.

The back row of all new signings then rounds out the pack with Harry Wilson and Fyn Brown on the flanks and Seb Nagle-Taylor at number eight.

Alex Dolly sits in his usual scrum half berth with Billy McBryde moving forward in the back-line to start at fly-half.

Knight Academy player Will Metcalfe mans the wing opposite Maliq Holden with new boy AJ Cant at fullback.

A slightly new centre pairing is tested as Connor Edwards has Harry Davey starting outside of him.

The bench is a large one – beginning with prop replacement options of Conor Davidson, Andrew Foster, Karl Garside and Knights Academy’s Calvin Mitchell.

Hooker replacements are new loan signing Harri Morris and Knights Academy’s Archie Upton.

The second row is covered by Ehize Ehizode, Evan Mintern and Knights Academy’s James Harrison.

Back row is then provided cover by Rhys Tait and new boys Jack Digby and Archie Smeaton.

Moving into the backs, Ollie Fox covers scrum half with Sam Olver and Knights Academy’s Tom Parkin ready to come on at fly half.

The replacements are then rounded out by Joe Margetts and loan signing Joe Bedlow.

Kick-off is at 17:15 at Stadiwm CSM on Saturday, Aug 19, and live updates will be available on our Twitter throughout the match.


Starting XV | 15 AJ Cant; 14 Maliq Holden, 13 Harry Davey, 12 Connor Edwards, 11 Will Metcalfe; 10 Billy McBryde, 9 Alex Dolly; 1 Harrison Courtney, 2 George Roberts, 3 Corrie Barrett, 4 Adam Hopkinson, 5 Ben Murphy, 6 Harry Wilson, 7 Fyn Brown, 8 Seb Nagle-Taylor.

Replacements | 16 Harri Morris, 17 Conor Davidson, 18 Andrew Foster, 19 Evan Mintern, 20 Ehize Ehizode, 21 Ollie Fox, 22 Joe Margetts, 23 Archie Smeaton, Rhys Tait, Jack Digby, Tom Parkin, Sam Olver, Joe Bedlow, Calvin Mitchell, Karl Garside, James Harrison, Archie Upton.

Our Partners